Posted by: ashburnreviews | September 15, 2009

Potato Latkes

Last Sunday night around 8:30, I had a sudden craving to make potato latkes.

I must admit, I make pretty great latkes, but the process is quite a bear so I don’t often do it.

Traditionally latkes are made at Hanukkah. I believe there is some association made between the oil that the latkes are fried in and the oil that kept the temple lit. Any religious tradition that encourages me to eat fried food, I am all for. 🙂

Anyhow so it was late. My husband and I were just driving back from the grocery store and I thought, we have the stuff at home, “I’m going to make potato latkes.”

My wonderful husband – who that night was extremely tired that night and had never had the good fortune to try my latkes before said, “I’ll peel the potatoes.” What a good man. That is one of the many reasons that I love him. He just wants to help – no matter how silly or random the project.

With my husband’s help, miraculously I was able to make the latkes in about 30 minutes. This is a world record for me I’m sure. Somehow I was able to keep the mess down to a minimum too. Although I didn’t use the carrot or the zucchini and I added some fresh herbs from my garden (tarragon and chives), this batch of latkes turned out excellent. I love them with apple sauce. And my husband now is a fan too. (But really how can any one not be – we are talking about potatoes and onions. Practically natures most perfect food combination.)

I am writing all this above back story to share with you my latke recipe – that I wrote down to save in my collection some years ago. When I read it again Sunday night, it made me laugh out loud because the language that it was written in is so me. Very colloquial. So here it is with as much as the original wording and formatting intact as possible.

Latkes for Hannukah
Potato Pancakes

2 baking ptatos
1 zuchinni
1 or 2 carrots
1 onion
all veggies peeled
2 tablespoons of flour
2 eggs
salt, pepper and marjamon to taste

1. Shred all veggies (use big hole).
2. Squeeze the heck out of the veggies to remove the liquid.
3. Make sure that there are more potatoes them anything else. The starch is the important part.
4. Mix everything together – including spices – squeeze more.
5. Form flat balls and drop in oil (7 balls).
6. It takes longer then you’d think that it would to cook the latkes, but you can flip them a few times without breaking them.
7. Take the latkes out and put them on a drying rack. Or use some system in oven to keep them hot. Do not let them sit in their own oil if possible.
8. Serve hot. Salt if needed. Top with apple sauce. Mmmm.

I should also mention that my mom cooked these differently when I was growing up. Instead of shredding the ingredients, she would put them all in a blender. This is good too but just a different product. I prefer the shredded ones.

Leave a Reply

Categories

