Posted by: ashburnreviews | July 16, 2009

Burglars Can’t Be Choosers

burglersAnother book that I read recently is

Burglars Can’t Be Choosers
by Lawrence Block

Like Slow Heat, this was a book out of my comfort genre zone. Burglars Can’t Be Choosers is a mystery. I don’t think that I can name any mysteries that I have read ever except this one.

I did not expect to like this book – but I did overall. I liked the way this witty book was written and for the most part I enjoyed reading it. Lawrence Block was very smart in the way that he set up scenes and characters. He made the main character, Bernie, a burglar by trade, very likable. I found myself routing for Bernie from the start.

There was actually a point early on in the book that I found so interesting, that one evening while I was reading and my husband went to ask me a question, I actually hushed him so that I could figure out what was going on in the book. “Shhhh, book!”

The parts that I didn’t like about the book came near the end. The narrator, Bernie, was unreliable, in particular when he was explaining things. So there were a couple circumstances where he would say one thing to one character in the book (and I’d like oh okay that makes sense) – like he would say, “It was Matilda by the couch in library.” And then later he would say to some one else, “I told so-and-so that it was Matilda by the couch in the library and he bought it. But you and I know that it was Steve by the refrigerator in the kitchen.”

When I read stuff like this, I get annoyed at the author. I think, Lawrence set me up, how dare him. I trusted him.

I spoke to a friend of mine who also read this book and she said, she reads something like that (the Matilda/Steve example above) and she thinks that she should have figured that out and wasn’t being smart enough.

I guess it is a difference in our personalities that we would take this changing reality so different.

The Burglars Can’t Be Choosers book is part of a series of books with Bernie as the star. So if you like this one, you have many more to read.

I cannot see myself seeking to read more Bernie the Burglar books, but if I was looking for something to read and had little else available and wanted something rather light, I could see picking one up.

Leave a Reply

Categories

