Posted by: ashburnreviews | May 28, 2009

Parsley Caterpillars

Now one has traveled to my
parsley. I really must do something.

parseleysmall

butI looked up some information about these guys and it turns out that they will turn into Black swallowtail butterflies.

(Photo via Texas A&M)

The year that they had invaded before, I was so concerned about them eating my plants that I put them in a box in the house and fed them carrot greens from the store. When they made cocoons, I opened the box and put it out side. One day I came home and they had left their cocoons. I felt rather proud. Like I helped them.

I don’t know if I am up for that again this year. Maybe I should just leave them and not have dill or parsley.

Leave a Reply

Categories

