Posted by: ashburnreviews | April 14, 2009

Gardening

The last few days I have been gardening. At first the unfun stuff – the weeding and the mulching – and then the fun stuff – the planting.

For the front yard, it took 5 bags of mulch! I probably could have even used a sixth one but enough is enough. I have 5 bags for the back so far but have not laid those down yet. Maybe on the next sunny day.

In the front of the house I planted lots of flowers. I planted a mix of perennials and annuals.

On the back top deck are all my vegetables and herbs…. Basil, chives, sage, cilantro, parsley, tarragon, oregano, tomatoes, sweet peas, lemon cucumbers, bell peppers.

It should be a good harvest if it can stay warn enough and not frost from here on out.

I figured Lowes isn’t taking their plants indoors so what difference does it matter if the plants experience the cold there at Lowes or at my house? 🙂

For the tomatoes, I bought 2 different types. I think a Best Boy and an Early Girl. I wanted to get the Roma Tomatoes but I must have mis-grabbed an Early Girl. No worries. A fresh tomato is hard to beat no matter what kind it is.

As my husband (and others) always say… There are two things money cannot buy. Love and fresh tomatoes. So true.

Anyhow for the tomatoes, we used the Topsy Turvy planters – where the tomato plants grow upside down. I hope these work out. They look like they are built well.

Today, I planned on taking photos of everything that I planted but it has been raining most of the morning. Maybe I’ll just suck it up and take quick photos.

Leave a Reply

Categories

