Posted by: ashburnreviews | March 30, 2009

Outliners

outliers I just finished the book Outliners by Malcom Gladwell. The book is about what makes people extra successful and it isn’t what you think necessarily. It is more about the amount of time people put into something other then a natural born gift of talent or intelligence.

I really enjoyed this book. It was just so well researched. I found myself wanting to tell my husband about every part I read.

“Honey honey… and then he says that people born in January have an advantage of being picked for sports teams!”

I think my husband got a bit tired of the play by play but for the most part he was a good sport.

blinkOutliners is by the same guy who wrote Blink and the Tipping Point. Both excellent books as well. I think I would read anything that this guy wrote.

Check out gladwell.com. In poking around his web site, I also see that Mr. Gladwell has a blog too.

thetippingptOutliners, by the way, is the first book that I read with the Kindle reader on the iPhone. The other books that I read on the iphone were on ereader. I did eventually get used to the finger motions of flipping the pages with the Kindle reader. What I never did get used to, though, was that I couldn’t ever figure out how close I was to finishing the book with the Kindle reader. The page count wasn’t apparent to me. Maybe I was missing something obvious… I don’t know.

Anyhow Outliners was a good read. I recommend it for those that like these sorts of non-fiction books.

Leave a Reply

Categories

