Posted by: ashburnreviews | March 30, 2009

His Dark Materials

Now onto finding something else to read…

I have a lot of bought books on my iphone unread. I should pick one of those.

books I’m thinking maybe reading the first book in the His Dark Materials Series by Philip Pullman.

In 2007 a movie came out called The Golden Compass that was modeled after these books. I did not see it but I think in general people liked it.

These 3 books, The Golden Compass, The Subtle Knife, and The Amber Spyglass, were recommended to me by a friend of mine. And I already bought them for the Kindle reader.

What I know about these books is that it looks like they are written for kids but that a lot of adults like them. There are religious undertones to the books. And some groups claim that their are anti-religious undertones to the books. And religious groups seem to be up-in-arms because Mr. Pullman is an atheist.

The books are written in a fancy genre which truthfully is one that I don’t tend to like. But I am thinking about giving these books a shot.

Leave a Reply

Categories

