Posted by: ashburnreviews | February 26, 2009

Gilmore Girls

Probably my favorite TV show of all time is the Gilmore Girls.

gm2

The show aired between 2000 and 2007. I watched it religiously. Now you can get all the seasons on DVD – which I have.

I’m going to insert a quote here from Wikipedia because I think it sums up the show better then I can.

The show follows single mother Lorelai Victoria Gilmore (Graham) and her daughter Lorelai “Rory” Leigh Gilmore (Bledel) in the fictional town of Stars Hollow, Connecticut, a close-knit small town with many quirky characters, located roughly thirty minutes from Hartford. The series explores family, friendship, generational divides, and social class.

Gilmore Girls features affected, fast-paced dialogue, with frequent popular culture and political references and social commentary, manifest most clearly in Lorelai’s difficult relationship with her wealthy upper class parents.

I just loved Gilmore Girls. It was full of popular culture references. And it was bright and cheery. The soundtrack was great. And everyone was so likable in the show including the cast of supporting actors, Sookie, Jackson, Luke, Emily, Richard, Miss. Patty, Lane, Babette, etc.

The show became a part of me. I thought of the characters when I wasn’t watching the show. And when Lorelai or Rory made a bad dating choice, it affected me personally. I think there were times I was yelling at the screen. 🙂 Or when good things happened in the show, like when Rory graduated, I found myself crying. The show drew me into it. That makes good TV I think.

Stars Hollow became a town that I wanted to live in. These always felt like good people to know.

(photo via Wikipedia)

Leave a Reply

Categories

