Posted by: ashburnreviews | February 23, 2009

Cheers

cheers
The other DVD collection my husband and I bought this weekend was the first season of the TV show Cheers.

Being born in 1975, I grew up watching Cheers. The show was on the air between 1982 and 1993.

I don’t ever remember a “starting” or “first” episode for me. It was just always on. I don’t recall a time when I didn’t know who those people were.

Cheers is about a group of people that work at and frequent a Boston bar. I think every episode was filled either in the bar’s main room, in Sammy’s (the owner’s) office or in the back pool room.

Cheers is about belonging and being comforted with a group of people ad place that you are familiar with. I think the theme song – which makes me smile when I hear it – really says it all.

Making your way in the world today takes everything you’ve got.

Taking a break from all your worries, sure would help a lot.

Wouldn’t you like to get away?

Sometimes you want to go

Where everybody knows your name,
and they’re always glad you came.

You wanna be where you can see,
our troubles are all the same

You wanna be where everybody knows
Your name.

Anyhow… while my husband was getting some much needed ZZZs on Sunday morning, I watch a few (maybe 6) of the Cheers episodes. What fun! Watching the old TV shows, felt like running into old family friends. I loved them.

The humor was great too. I found myself wondering if when I was a kid – did I get all the jokes then? Who knows. I remember liking it.

I’d like to see if Night Court is on DVD, and maybe get a copy of that too. Night court aired about the same time – from 1984 to 1992. I recall liking that show too as a kid. I liked Bull and Selma and Harry and Dan and Roz.

Leave a Reply

Categories

