Posted by: ashburnreviews | February 13, 2009

11 Books

These are the 11 books that I have read on the iPhone so far:

131The Thirteenth Tale, by Diane Setterfield

This was a book that I didn’t expect to enjoy. A woman who is an author and dying seeks out another woman to write out her biography. The story is very gothic and it is full of twists and turns. Thirteenth Tale reminded me some what of books I read as a child by V. C. Andrews. I enjoyed it. I was great.

edgarThe Story of Edgar Sawtelle, by Davis Wroblewski

A long book – the story of a deaf boy and his relationship with dogs. This book – in some book reviews is compared to Shakespeare. I am not sure I would go that far on it – but I enjoyed reading the book. I would say it was a good book.

gabaldon1The Gifted Gabaldon Sisters, by Lorraine Lapez

This was an interesting book about sisters and how their relationship with each other changes as they grow up. It is a bit of a sad book because it deals with how children with all these great hopes and dreams and possibilities grown up to be adults. It was a good book. I enjoyed reading it.

a_thousand_splendid_sunsA Thousand Splendid Suns, by Khaled Hosseini

This book is by the same guy who wrote Kite Runner. Both books are great. Splendid Suns is about 2 women who grow up in Afghanistan and how their lives intertwine. Reading this book was really amazing. The author has a way of bringing the reader into the book.

sugarThe House at Sugar Beach, by Helene Cooper

How little I know about history. This book is about a woman who grew up as part of a wealthy Liberian family. Her family took in a foster daughter to keep the narrator company – which apparently was very common in Liberia. The foster daughter already had a family but to grow up with the narrators family was a big deal because she would grow up with many more advantages then her family could give her. The narrator’s family treated the foster girl good but not as well as a born-in family member. When the family had the retreat Liberia because of some political unrest, they left the foster daughter behind. Many years later, the narrator returns to speak out her foster sister. This book was heart breaking and believable and well written.

graceGrace, by Richard Paul Evans

I kept expecting this book to get better – so I kept reading it. It read like a TV afternoon special. Or like a book written for a young adult. The story lacked depth. The book told the story of a girl who was abused by her dad and ran away. And this younger buy took her in and had her live in his club house for some time. I recognize that child abuse is a big issue – but it was hard for me to think of that – be cause this book just seemed so fake. Why not tell a real story instead?

artrainThe Art of Racing in the Rain, by Garth Stein
From a dog’s perspective. The story of the dog’s owner’s life. It is good.

dontsleepDon’t Sleep, There are Snakes, by Daniel L. Everett

A man travels as a missionary to convert a remote tribe. In the process he adopts their way of thinking. I liked this book – but it focused a lot on the narrator learning the language more then I wanted it to. I get it. It was hard. Very hard. But for me what was more interesting was the stories he told of his daily interactions.

hereistheHere’s the Story, by Maureen McCormick

A great auto-biography by Maureen McCormick. On the Brady Bunch TV show, Maureen played Marcia Brady when she was younger. This books tells the story of her life behind the scenes and to today. Good book.

yearoffogThe Year of Fog, by Michelle Richmond

The narrator is a young woman who is engaged to a guy with a young child. While the woman is watching the child one day on the beach, the child disappears. This book is the story of what happens afterward – with the woman and her relationship with the guy. The book was very believable and well written. I find myself thinking about it a lot.

whywesuckWhy We Suck, by Denis Leary

This book was Denis Leary being Denis Leary – telling his take on the world. Once Dennis slowed down a bit and talked about things completely – rather then spitting off sound-bite rants (which dominated the first bit of the book)- I rather enjoyed this book. Next to finding out that Denis likes Oprah – which was a fun tidbit – I also really liked when he talked about his phone conversations with his mom. Those mom-to-Dennis transcriptions reminded me of trying to talk to my mom on the phone. I was was a bit sad when this book ended. I enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

