Posted by: ashburnreviews | February 9, 2009

Obama Dolls

The Chia pet reminds me of the Marvelous Malia and Sweet Sasha dolls that I read about on my iPhone (via USA Today – I love that application) this weekend. It seems the company that makes Beanie Babies (Ty Inc.) started selling Sweet Sasha and Marvelous Malia dolls as part of their TyGirlz collection – the names of course in honor of Obama’s two children. Ty says that they were going to create those dolls – and then later named them as they did to mark the historic occasion.

04dolls_190

Michelle Obama, who doesn’t seem to take anything from anybody (I like that about her) protested that the dolls were inappropriately using “young, private citizens for marketing purposes.”

Ty backed down and have now renamed the dolls to “Marvelous Mariah” and “Sweet Sydney”. Which I think they probably should have. These are children after all. If nothing else Ty should have gotten Barack and Michelle’s signoff for the dolls.

I wonder if the girls will want to own the dolls – the ones that are their name sake…

I could see Sasha (she is the 7 year old, right?) just being tickled pink about the doll – of course this is just my guess as I don’t know the first children.

Also even if the girls don’t want the dolls now, it seems to me that these dolls will be the sort of item that the girls will want as they get older so that for if nothing else , they can show the dolls to their grandchildren one day. “When I was a little girl… they made a doll of me and one your aunt Malia. That is when your great gandfather Barak become president of course. And here is that doll.”

(via nytimes)

Leave a Reply

Categories

